Office Hours / Office Locations / Services Available
Bourbon County
Patty Love
Took Office: 2017
County Population:

Organized in 1855, Bourbon County, with a county seat of Ft. Scott, received its name from Bourbon County, Ky., the latter having been one of the nine counties organized in 1785 by the Virginia legislature, before Kentucky became an independent state. It was so called as a compliment to the Bourbon dynasty of France, a prince of that family (then on the throne) having rendered the American colonies important aid in men and money in their great struggle for independence. Colonel Samuel A. Williams, a native of Bourbon county, Ky., was a member of the House from Fort Scott in 1855, and it was at his request that the county was so named. He was mustered in as Captain of Company I, Second Kansas Cavalry, November 22, 1861, and resigned March 28, 1862. He died at his old home, Fort Scott, in August, 1873.

  • Main Office: 620.223.3800 ext. 16
  • Tax Office: 620.223.3800 ext. 803
  • Motor Vehicle: 620.223.3800 ext. 803
  • Driver's License: 620.223.3800
  • Fax: 620.223.3444 Tax/Motor Vehicle
  • Email:
  • Our Website:
  • Mailing Address: 210 South National, Fort Scott, Ks 66701
back one page to map back to top
  • Main Office: 8:30 - 4:00 / Monday - Friday - open during lunch
  • Driver's License: 8:30 - 4:00 / Thursday and Friday - open during lunch
  • VIN Inspections - Bourbon County South Parking Lot / Monday and Friday 12:30 - 1:30
back one page to map back to top
  • Main Office: 210 South National, Fort Scott, Kansas Courthouse
  • Driver's License: 210 South National, 2nd Floor, Fort Scott, Kansas - Courthouse
back one page to map back to top
  • Driver's License Renewals
    • As of Jan 1, 2006, all CDL's must be handled in Full Service Stations
  • Notary Services
  • Open During Lunch Hour
  • Provide Vehicle Tax Information
back one page to map back to top